1 Mar 2017

Irish library events for 2017

Following on from our post on Irish library events for Autumn & Winter 2016, here are details of a lot of great library events to look forward to in 2017.

I'll make ongoing updates to this post so please let me know about any new events, changes needed or extra details as they are announced.

TCD Library: Berkeley50
A series of events across February and March celebrating the first fifty years of the Berkeley library building.

Show and tell: exhibitions & outreach for libraries
Friday  March 3, 11am – 4pm
The National Library of Ireland (NLI)

Open evening for DBS MSc in Information and Library Management (full course & CPD)
Tuesday, March 7, 5-7pm.
Dublin Business School, Aungier St.

LAI AGM 2017 and event
Thursday March 9
Thursday 9th March, starting at 11am
Pearse Street Public Library, Dublin 2

Inaugural John Dean Debate: 'This house believes that invisible librarians have contributed to the post-truth era.
Debaters: Ms Aoife Lawton (proposing) and Dr Philip Cohen (opposing).
Wednesday March 15, 6.00 - 8:30pm.
The Royal Irish Academy, 19 Dawson Street, Dublin 2

Your Professional Knowledge and Skills Base - LAI CPD PKSB Event
Wednesday, March 22, 2pm-4pm
Pearse Street Library, Dublin

Customer Services Excellence Workshop
Wednesday, March 29, 10:30 – 16:00
UCC Library

CDG and A&SL present: Library Leadership Workshop
Wednesday, March 29
Royal Irish Academy, 19 Dawson Street, Dublin 2

LAI/CILIP Annual Ireland Joint Conference 2017
Wednesday, March 29 - Friday, March 31
Tullamore Court Hotel, Tullamore, Co. Offaly

"Collections vs. Libraries. What matters?"
Speaker: Pernille Drost, Deputy Director General, Royal Danish Library and Head of the National Library of Denmark, Copenhagen
Lunchtime talk in National Library of Ireland, Kildare Street, Dublin
Thursday 30th March at 13.00-14.00

"Fake news is an oxymoron, and a LibGuide won’t cut it"
A talk by Alan Carbery, Associate Director, Champlain College, Vermont, USA.
Organised by the Library Association of Ireland (LAI) in association with the CONUL Teaching and Learning Group and the LAI Taskforce on Literacies
Thursday, April 6, 14:00 – 16:00
Dublin City Library, 138 Pearse st, Dublin 2

Information Professionals' Network Expo 17
A careers fair for information professionals & librarians
Friday, May 19

QQML2017: 9th International Conference on Qualitative and Quantitative Methods in Libraries
Tuesday 23 - Friday 26 May, 2017

CONUL annual conference
"Inspiring and Supporting Research"
Tuesday, 30 May - Wednesday, 31 May
Hodson Bay hotel, Athlone

DBS Library annual seminar
Fri, 9 June

International Congress of Medical Librarianship (ICML) and European Association for Health Information and Libraries (EAHIL)
Monday, 12 June – Friday 16 June, Dublin Castle

[R]evolution: Re-imagining the Art Library
ARLIS/UK & Ireland: the Art Libraries Society conference
12-14 July 2017
National Gallery of Ireland, Dublin


Post a Comment